News & Articles

Buck-Taylor Presents HRRA Awards

April 27, 2012

The 2012 Award Ceremony for the Housatonic Resources Recovery Authority (HRRA) Poster Contest was held on April 25th at the North Street Branch of Union Savings Bank.   The purpose of the contest is to promote education and awareness for HRRA’s recycling programs.  The students of each of the eleven municipalities served by HRRA were invited to submit posters supporting the theme of “How and What Do You Reduce, Reuse and Recycle.”

Each of the 44 Regional Winners who placed first, second or third was given a commemorative plaque and a check ranging from $50 to $250.  Students who were recognized for Honorable Mention received a commemorative plaque and a gift.  New this year, in addition to the awards to each of the individual winners, the Grand Prize Winner’s school receives a check for $1000 to support recycling and environmental education.

The presentation was attended by numerous First Selectmen and other elected officials.  Attorney Buck-Taylor attended on behalf of Pat Murphy, the Mayor of New Milford.  As Vice-Chair of the New Milford Town Council, Cecilia Buck-Taylor personally congratulated each of the ten New Milford winners and had the honor of presenting to each of them their plaques and gifts.  Buck-Taylor was very grateful for being given this opportunity by Mayor Murphy to represent New Milford at this Awards Ceremony.

New Milford had much to be proud of at the Awards Ceremony.  The New Milford Regional Winners and Honorable Mention recipients spanned school levels from Kindergarten to the 12th grade.  Of the eleven municipalities, New Milford not only received the most awards but also had the Grand Prize Winner, Annie Moa, who is a senior at New Milford High School.  As the Grand Prize Winner, Annie will have her poster mounted on two billboards in the area for one month, including one in New Milford on Route 7, north of Larsen Road.

Because of Annie Moa’s exceptional artwork as the Grand Prize winner, the New Milford High School was the first recipient of the $1000 award.  Go New Milford!!!