News & Articles

Limited Operations to Resume in Three Currently Closed Courthouses

May 29, 2020

The Connecticut Judicial Branch is targeting the partial resumption of operations in three courthouses starting Monday, June 8, 2020.
The three courthouses are: the Middlesex Judicial District Courthouse in Middletown, Rockville’s Geographical Area No. 19 Courthouse, and the Litchfield Judicial District Courthouse at Torrington.
Priority 1 business – for example, arraignments of defendants held on bond; arraignments of defendants in any domestic violence cases, emergency child custody matters and juvenile detention hearings, and significantly, all other emergency matters – will continue to be handled in the open courthouses. With the partial resumption of limited court operations in these three, cases from those courts that had been transferred elsewhere will return to their original jurisdiction. Other logistics include the following:
• In the physical courthouses, the Judicial Branch will continue to concentrate on Priority 1 and emergency business.
• Juvenile Court business will resume in the Middletown, New Britain, and Torrington courthouses, effective June 8. Cases from the Waterbury Juvenile Court will go to Torrington; cases from the Waterford Juvenile Court will go to Middletown.
• The days and hours of court business at all open courthouses will be Mondays, from 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. and on Wednesday and Friday from 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. All courts will be closed on Tuesdays and Thursdays until further notice. These days and hours of operation are subject to further change in the coming days and weeks.
• Cases from the Geographical Area Courthouse No. 12 in Manchester will be transferred to the Rockville Courthouse until further notice.